SNA News Releases

Competitive Foods: SNA Final Comments, Process, Guiding Principles, & Sweepstakes

 Permanent link

As you are aware, SNA has submitted comments addressing the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) proposed regulations to establish nutrition standards for “competitive” foods and beverages. SNA’s comments are available by clicking here. SNA strongly encourages all members to submit their own comments, affording members the opportunity to model SNA comments, as well as to further delve into the issues that affect you the most. 

You can review the steps that SNA took to solicit member comments for inclusion here. In addition, you can review the guiding principles that the SNA Competitive Foods Task Force took into consideration as they took into account the varied needs and views of membership. 

To encourage members to submit comments, SNA is also holding a “Competitive Foods Sweepstakes” to encourage SNA members to submit their own comments to USDA sharing insight on how the proposed rule will impact your program. For more information on the sweepstakes, please click here. To submit your own comments to USDA, please visit by April 9, 2013.

Action Alert for Proposed Legislation in Senate and House

 Permanent link

Help us in providing healthy school meals each day.  Contact your Senators and Member of Congress and ask them to cosponsor S. 427 or H.R. 1303.  For a form letter that you can send or revise and send, click here.

As you may know, Senators John Hoeven (R-ND), Dan Coats (R-IN), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), James Inhofe (R-OK), Tim Johnson (D-SD), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Mark Pryor (D-AR), Pat Roberts (R-KS), John Thune (R-SD), and Roger Wicker (R-MS) introduced S. 427, the “Sensible School Lunch Act,” which would amend the Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act (HHFKA) by eliminating the weekly maximums for grains and meat/meat alternates. SNA staff worked with Senator Hoeven’s staff on drafting the legislation which would permanently resolve the first point on SNA’s 2013 Legislative Issue Paper.  The full text of S. 427 can be found here.

Also, Members of Congress Steve Stivers (R-OH), Marcia Fudge (D-OH), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Frederica Wilson (D-FL), Larry Bucshon (R-IN), Bob Gibbs (R-OH), Trent Franks (R-AZ), Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM), Rodney Davis (R-IL), Patrick Tiberi (R-OH), Jim Renacci (R-OH), Loretta Sanchez (D-CA),  and Doc Hastings (R-WA) have introduced a bill that will makes the USDA revisions to grains and protein permanent.  Here is the text of H.R. 1303.   

Again, here is the link to reach out to your Senators and House Member.

Bookmark and Share